Love and Carriage, Horse and Marriage?

“We’re so arrogant, aren’t we? So afraid of age, we do everything we can to prevent it. We don’t realize what a privilege it is to grow old with someone. Someone who doesn’t drive you to commit murder or doesn’t humiliate you beyond repair.”

-P.S. I Love You

DSCN0705

 

The first anniversary of my sister’s marriage is quickly approaching. I’m in awe of the speed at which the time has flown.

Just this past weekend, my cousin was married.

A few days before, I watched a movie called 112 Weddings.

Is the topic becoming clearer?

My view of marriage is being molded all the time, whether it be examining the relationships around me, questioning faith, or watching a sappy movie.

Most American dreams include falling in love, getting married, building a perfect home, and having children.

To me, it all still seems impossible. Though I may be young and naive at 21, my sister and cousin both married before turning 25. Does this mean I’m rapidly searching for a soul mate? Nada.

I guess what I am beginning to realize, is that, at some point, my siblings and cousins and I will (probably) all be married. Two down, five to go. How do you stay in touch with other adults? Adults with children? Adults with full-time careers?

When I watched the documentary film 112 Weddings by Doug Block–a wedding videographer who interviews former clients about their experiences/struggles with lifetime commitment–most couples had altered opinions from when they married.

My hope is to find someone who makes me feel, as one of my coworkers once described, like my feet will never touch the ground.

 

Say Something...

